A Good Fin’ish

Norfolk is rapidly turning into ‘the place’ to see cetaceans at the moment.

I received a call from Steve Gantlett at Cley on Monday morning. He had seen what he thought were 10 Pilot Whales off Cley at East Bank. I believe his wife Sue originally found them. After a short discussion about ID it became obvious his identification was correct. The sighting was confirmed to me by Paul Lee. Thanks Guys.

Good friend Bob and I didn’t arrive until around 2pm and opted to visit Weybourne as Steve had said the animals were moving very slowly East. Thankfully the animals were still offshore to the west of Weybourne and I could confirm they were predictably Long finned rather than the Short finned species of more tropical climes. My elation turned to disappointment when I saw that the animals were in a state of confusion. They had obviously come down from the north and hit the east west coast of Norfolk and didn’t know which way to turn. There were more than 10, indeed the calming sea revealed the pod numbered roughly 25 and many were spy hopping and breathing rapidly obviously trying to work out which way to turn. This species has a history of stranding. I telephoned British Divers Marine Life Rescue to put them on alert just in case. They were already aware of the situation having followed events on social media. I then telephoned Sharon, my other half, to warn her we could be in for a long night if the pod beached and asked her to bring our marine mammal medic grab bags and manuals.

It was around 4 o’clock when the sun made a last effort below a strip of cloud on the horizon and it was as if this was a cue for enlightenment; as if the wales finally understood where they were. They moved off strongly east and passed us 800m offshore. They were no longer bunched up and this gave me the opportunity to do an accurate count of 23 animals as they passed. It was a moment of relief and I could now enjoy the first sighting of live Long finned Pilot Whales in Norfolk.

There have been several records previously in Norfolk but all of dead animals: see the following record at www.norfolkcetaceans.wordpress.com

Long finned Pilot Whale       Globicephala melas

Strandings

1982 25th November Eccles measuring 9 feet long

1982 22nd December Stiffkey measuring 12 feet long

1983 13th February Holkham

1983 13th February Scolt Head measuring 16 feet long

1992 13th December a 5.75m long male found dead on Scolt Head Island

Sightings

2008 5th September a reported sighting on Birdline East Anglia was never qualified.

2014 11 10 Long finned Pilot Whale Weybourne Norfolk_Z5A1898

7 thoughts on “A Good Fin’ish

  1. I’d be interested to know if there have ever been any strandings around Boston Lincolnshire, if the Wash is a common location for it to be happening. Has that ever happened, do you know?

    • Hi Alistair – Thanks for your interest. I would imagine cetaceans strand from time to time on the Lincolnshire coast.(cf http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2110066/35ft-long-sperm-whale-dead-Lincolnshire-beach.html) As you know this site covers Norfolk records only. The records of all reported strandings for Norfolk are listed here on the site but I’m unaware of a similar site covering Lincolnshire records from the Wash. All Norfolk Bird and Mammal records are published annually by the Norfolk and Norwich Naturalist’s Society (NNNS). The nearest equivalent I know of in Lincolnshire is the Lincolnshire Naturalist’s Union (LNU) http://www.lnu.org/index.php and although I know Bird Records are published by the Lincolnshire Bird Club they do not (as far as I’m aware) incorporate mammals.
      I’ve emailed the Lincolnshire mammal recorder to ask if the mammal records (specifically cetaceans) are published somewhere where you can access them. If I receive a response I’ll let you know.
      Best regards
      Carl

  2. Pingback: The whistleri conundrum « Trevor On Tour

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.