14
Sep
14

A Bush but no bird

.

I couldn’t hear them. I’ve not lost the top end of my hearing range as yet; I’ve just never been able to hear frequency that high. I can still hear Goldcrest and Firecrest as well as Savi’s Warblers. My friend Andrew however has the hearing of a dog. He could hear them.

Staring into a tuft of grass he’d say “yep, here’s a Roesel’s calling and there’s a Conehead stridulating to your right”.

Really?

I’ll be buggered if I could hear them. I need to take a bat detector next time.

Both Roesel’s Bush Cricket and Long Winged Conehead are recent immigrants into Norfolk (first seen in 1997 and 2000 respectively) and I have to thank Andrew for pointing them out to me.

.

Long winged Conehead

.

Roesel's Bush Cricket

 

 

2 Responses to “A Bush but no bird”


  1. September 14, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    There is definitely an age and sex difference in hearing of crickets. We get both of these species at Whitlingham and I have no problem hearing them, but Cathy actually finds listening to Roesel’s Bush Crickets for any length of time quite painful.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Archives


