11
Jul
13

Well …They’re only Buzzards aren’t they.

I’d like to tell you a story. The story is about a gamekeeper called Colin Burne. Colin is 64 and lives on Winters Park in Penrith Cumbria. I’ve known some good gamekeepers in my time; custodians of the countryside they can be in sympathy with our wildlife. Occasionally they will need to dispatch Crows or the like that interfere with the raising of their pheasants; not a practise with which I sympathise but never the less the copses maintained by landowners for pheasant rearing that would otherwise be cleared for agriculture are good habitat for other wildlife. There are always good sides to situations when you look hard enough. Colin caught a couple of Buzzards in his crow trap and the law says he should have released them but he … I’ll tell you what … a picture paints a thousand words. Take a look at this video released by the RSPB this week.

If the link above doesn’t work in your browser try this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULBW0H2uqZ8

Colin was given no more than a slap on the wrists and told not to do it again by the court judge.
To me Colin’s actions seem routine; as though he does this almost every day.
Unless we pull together for this country’s wildlife we will lose it. Nature in Britain is in trouble it needs protection by the courts giving heavy jail sentences’ to people that don’t respect it.

9 Responses to “Well …They’re only Buzzards aren’t they.”


  1. 1 Wendy Jones
    July 11, 2013 at 11:24 am

    This made me feel ill. This is yet another example of a weak judiciary not using the sentencing powers it already has that were won after years of hard graft by people who care. Clearly we have to shout louder.

  2. July 11, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Unfortunately, experience tells me that it happens everywhere everyday, not only in UK. I am not surprised at all. Best regards
    Thomas

    • July 11, 2013 at 4:22 pm

      It doesn’t surprise me either Thomas. What raises my anger is that he got away with a suspended sentence. As Wendy says in her comment ‘a lot of people have worked hard to increase sentencing powers only for a weak judge to let the side down’. However; well done to the RSPB for publishing the video.

  3. 5 ...
    February 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    The RSPB made the last few months of his life rather stressful by uploading this video. Thankfully he is at peace now and doesn’t have to listen to the likes of you judgmental individuals anymore x

    • February 28, 2014 at 10:59 am

      I am genuinely sorry for your loss.
      I thought twice about allowing your post to be placed within the comments section. However I think in this instance it is fair that you are allowed a voice whatever you reasons.
      Judgemental? Yes, of course I am. Aren’t we all judged by our actions? I make no further comment other than what I said within the original post and to reiterate that I am sorry for your loss.

      • 7 ...
        March 1, 2014 at 10:17 am

        Thanks for your reply – I was feeling a bit angry at the time and I apoligise if it came across as too harsh. As you say, we are all entitled to our opinions and I understand fully why yours is, in all honesty, more valid than mine. Again, I’m sorry for the harshness of my comment. x

      • March 1, 2014 at 11:15 am

        Opinions are just that … opinions. One no more valid than another. Certainly no need for you to be sorry.
        All the best … and I hope you take a look at some of the more cheerful blog entries on ‘Letter from Norfolk’ – some of them (I’m told) are good for the soul.
        Take care.

  4. 9 Paul Burne
    May 12, 2014 at 9:36 pm

    It was not ‘rather stressful’ it was totally devastating to my Father; a man who did far more for the countryside, for his friends, for strangers; than the majority of those commenting… including me . The cowardly letters and middle of the night, anonymous phone calls that were made were frightening to my parents and out of proportion yet go unpunished and unreported. What I’d encourage you all to do is read a cross section of the media from the same period and look at sentencing for people committing crime against fellow man and vulnerable people. I ‘googled’ those named in those cases and there was no ‘social media’ frenzy in relation to any of those. I’d say there is a lack of perspective: yep, he broke the law and he was punished (if you do not understand the impact of a criminal conviction of a decent man then get in touch) but also, it was just a buzzard (a species not under threat).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives


